Sat 2 Feb 2013

Miloš Forman receives DGA Award

A Czech-born film maker Miloš Forman becomes the 34th recipient of the Directors Guild of America (DGA) Award, following in the footsteps of Steven Spielberg, Francis Ford Coppola and Stanley Kubrick.

"Milos finds the universality of the human experience in every story," said Taylor Hackford, president of the Directors' Guild.

The first DGA Award was an "Honorary Life Member" award issued in 1938 to D.W. Griffith. The DGA award for "Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Motion Pictures" was first awarded in 1949 to Joseph L. Mankiewicz for A Letter to Three Wives.

The DGA Award for Feature Film has traditionally been a near perfect barometer for the Best Director Academy Award. Only six times since the DGA Award's inception has the DGA Award winner not won the Academy Award. - 65th Annual DGA Awards Television Nominees Announced - Milos Forman honoured by the US Directors' Guild on 2012-11-29

Calendars with this event