Mon 4 Feb 2013 unconfirmed

Laureus World Sports Awards

  • By Jasper vd B and 1 other
  • Last Update: 4 years ago
  • Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

The Laureus World Sports Awards are awarded annually to sportsmen, sportswomen or entire teams who have been outstanding during the previous year.

The world's leading sports journalists from over 80 countries vote to create a shortlist of six nominations in each category.Then the members of the Laureus World Sports Academy vote by secret ballot to select the Award winners.

The main categories are:

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year

Laureus World Team of the Year

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year

Laureus World Comeback of the Year

There are two more categories voted for by specialist panels:

Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year, chosen by a panel of the world's leading alternative sports journalists

Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability, which is overseen by the Executive Committee of the International Paralympic Committee.

Three other honours are selected by the Founding Patrons and the Academy, which area Daimler and Richemont:

Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award

Laureus Sport for Good Award

Laureus Spirit of Sport

The Laureus World Sports Awards were established in 1999. Rio De Janeiro was selected to host the Awards for two years (2013 and 2014). Besides, the city will also host FIFA World cup in 2014 and the 2016 Olympic Games .

Calendars with this event