11 days between Wed 23 Jul 00:00 and Sun 3 Aug 2014 23:59 unconfirmed (12 days between Tue 22 Jul 19:00 and Sun 3 Aug 2014 18:59 America/Kentucky/Monticello)

Commonwealth Games

  • By Gerry and 1 other
  • Last Update: 3 years ago
  • Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom

The international Commonwealth Games include multiple sports, where the Commonwealth of Nations' representatives get to compete. 

The games took place for the first time in 1930 and are held every four years.

In the beginning they were named British Empire Games. Later the title was changed to British Empire and Commonwealth Games in 1954 and to British Commonwealth Games in 1970, before they got the current name in 1978. 

The host cities and the sporting programme are chosen by the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF). 

71 teams take part in the games as even UK Home nations, Crown dependencies and island states compete individually.

Only six of these teams have been to all the Commonwealth Games editions: England, Wales, Australia, Scotland, Canada and New Zealand. 

The highest achiever so far has been Australia with 11 victories, followed by England with 7 and Canada with 1.

Calendars with this event