Languages: ENNL

Sun 17 Feb 2013

Presidential election in Cyprus

Presidential elections are held in Cyprus.

Constitutionally, the president must be a Greek Cypriot, and is elected by majority vote in a two round electoral system. Candidates include Nicos Anastasiades (Democratic Rally), Stavros Malas (Progressive Party of Working People), Lakis Ioannou (LASOK), Giorgos Lillikas (EDEK) and several independents.

The incumbent president is Demetris Christofias, the only communist head of state in the European Union. 

Calendars with this event