Languages: ENNL

Thu 16 May 2013

Armenia assumes presidency of CoE Committee of Ministers

  • By Alain and 1 other
  • Last Update: 4 years ago
  • Yerevan, K'aghak' Yerevan, Armenia

Armenia is to assume the presidency of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe. When taking the position, Armenia will replace Andorra who has been acting as chair until May.

The date was set after Armenian Foreign Minister Edward Nalbandian and Council of Europe Secretary General Thorbjørn Jagland signed in mid-April a Memorandum of Understanding on opening a CoE office in Yerevan and on its legal status.

"It is important that we continue to strengthen the organisation's role and contribute to the implementation of the legal commitments assumed by member states," Jagland said after the meeting.

Calendars with this event